Saxophonist, flutist, composer and band leader Fredrik Lundin is one of the major jazz profiles of his generation in Scandinavia. Since arriving on the Danish Jazz scene in 1981 this elegant and explosive musician has been searching relentlessly into the realms of contemporary music, respecting no boundaries. A truly original and virtuoso voice, performing in bands around Europe and Scandinavia, such as his own Offpiste Gurus5 Go Adventuring Again, the 13 piece MaLuBa Orchestra, which he co-leads with Marilyn Mazur and Kasper Bai, and with Marilyn Mazur Group, Jon Balke Magnetic North Orchestra and Carsten Dahl. 

He's currently a member of Marilyn Mazur Group, Makiko Hirabayashi's Weavers, Tomasz Dabrowski's Istnienia Poszczególne // The Individual Beings and Simon Spang-Hansens "Epistrophy Septet"

With Trinelise Væring he's co-leading the 10 piece band Tone of Voice Orchestra

Also he is a distinguished composer for contemporary ensembles, jazz groups and big band, as well as theater and modern dance performances.

He's released 13 albums as a leader (see discography)

He appears on more than 40 other albums as soloist and sideman among them “All the Birds” with Marilyn Mazur and “Tangled Temptation and the Magic Box” (Stunt Records) with Marilyn Mazur Group. “Saturation” (Jazzland) with Jon Balke and „Diverted Travels“ (ECM Records) with Jon Balke Magnetic North Orchestra.
See discography.

He's received numerous prizes and awards, among them 3 Danish Music Awards (Grammys) for best jazz release of the year, and the Ben Webster Prize for his musicianship. In 2019 he was awarded the Stamina prize for lifetime achievement by the composers association DJBFA.


2022: Danish Music Award. Jazz Vocal Album of the Year for "Tone of Voice Orchestra".
2019: Danish Music Award. Jazzz Album of the Year for "Maluba Orchestra".
2019: Jazz album release of the year. Awarded by Jazz magazine Jazz Special for "5 GO Adventuring Again"
2019: Staminaprisen (The Stamina Prize). Awarded by composers association DJBFA for his endurance on the Danish music scene (see the full text in Danish here)
2018: Danish Music Award - Jazz composer of the year, for the music on the album "5 Go Adventuring Again".
See the show here.
2018: Carlprisen (The Carl Prize, named after composer Carl Nielsen). For the music for the album "5 Go Adventuring Again".
2007: Ben Websterprisen (The Ben Webster Prize)
2005: Danish Music Award Jazz. Album of the Year. For the album "Belly-up, Fredrik Lundin Overdrive Plays the Music of Leadbelly"
2002: Danish Music Award. Album of the Year. For the album "Choose Your Boots" with Fredrik Lundin Overdrive.
2002: Jazz Relase of the Year, awarded by the Jazz Magazine Jazz Special for the album "Choose Your Boots".
1997: A grant from Laurens Bogtman fonden.
1997: Kunstfondens 3-årige stipendium (A 3-year grant from the National Foundation for the Arts).
1995: DJBFA's ærespris (The DJBFA Honorary Award) awarded by composers association DJBFA.
1991: Statens kunstfond (The National Foundation for the Arts) an award for "His uniquely creative playing" ("Hans enestående kreative spil").
1991: Hafnia's tonekunstnerlegat.
1986: JASA-prisen. Awarded by the jazz music journalists association.
1984: A tallent prize from Léonie Sonnings Musikfond (The Léonie Sonning Foundation).
1982: Søren's penge